Hangry Pains

Well, our time in Panama City has come to a close and we are now off to DeFuniak Springs! It’s another short ride, only around 60 miles or so.

But first…let’s talk about breakfast. Oh em gee. It was AMAZING. We had French toast ( my personal breakfast fav) with a delicious icing/syrup, fruit, milk, and cupcakes! The cupcakes are to help balance out all the sugar from the French toast. Of course.

I originally intended on riding solo again, but managed to catch up to Hairy Hannah and Kit Kat Kirstin. I told them I’d probably be going slower since my knee is still giving me serious issues. They were kind enough to be okay with that, and let me ride along with them.

We took turns leading, and by the time it was my turn to lead, I knew lunch would be close. So I told them I’d lead until lunch. WELL, lunch is normally in the middle of our ride, so we tend to look for it at that midpoint mileage. Since it was a 62 mile ride, we knew it would be around mile 30-35ish. Well, by mile 36 and still no lunch, I was starting to get a bit hangry. Shocker, I know. At that point we hadn’t taken any breaks, and my knee felt like it was going to rip in half. I told Hannah and Kirstin I needed to take a break for a minute or two to give my knee a break.

While we were stopped 2 other groups showed up, also tired and hangry. We called Daring Dan to see where our blessed lunch was at, and he informed us it was only 4 miles away. 4 miles. I got that. I think…

Apparently the last 6 miles were where the rolling hills started (of course). So I was already incredibly irritable because of my dangerous hangry level, but my knee was also really giving me problems, which only added to my bad mood. Then, up ahead in the distance I see it. Not lunch. A huge hill. I had so many mean thoughts rolling through my head at that point that the anger is what fueled my trip up the hill. Then, l actually did see it. LUNCH. Everyone rolled up into lunch within 30 minutes of each other and Dan made the comment that it was funny to see how everyone’s moods changed after getting to eat. At least one person was able to find humor in the situation…even if it was a little cruel.

After lunch, Loopy Laura and I set out to finish up the ride. The hills never lessened, and my knee was on the verge of falling off. We hit a couple hills that I actually got off the bike and walked up because the popping was getting so bad. At the last mile there was another massive hill that I had to dismount on due to pain. I told Laura to go on ahead since I was barely moving. Then Kit Kat Kirstin and Hairy Hannah showed back up and walked the rest of the hill with me. Once we reached the top, we hopped back on the bikes and finished out the ride into the church.

Once at the church, we were shown where the showers and rooms were and we devoured the snacks they had made available. Dinner came and went in typical B&B style and we were given a mini concert by some of their church band.

That evening Laura and I crammed onto a small single person mattress and managed to not push the other off. We got to have some fun and interesting conversations with Gregarious Greg, Daunting Dusty, Magic Micah, and Marvelous Marlee.

Tomorrow we head for Pensacola! Whoop whoop!

Leave a comment